About Organizers
ROMAI was founded in 1992. It is a non-profit scientific association whose members are mathematicians, physicists, engineers, chemists, biologists, economists, and other scientists from Romania, Republic of Moldova, and some other countries. ROMAI encourages and promotes studies on applied mathematics and organizes annually, since 1993, the Conference on Applied and Industrial Mathematics (CAIM).
Technical University of Moldova (TUM) is the only higher technical educational institution, accredited by the State in Moldova Republic. Since its establishment in 1964 until now, it has trained about 78387 engineers and economists. The University offers courses in 60 specialties and specializations for the I cycle, 43 specialties for masters and 45 specialties for doctorate, covering the needs of the national economy in preparing engineers. At TUM, studies are organized under the European System of Transferable Academic Credits (ESTC). The ESTC facilitates mobility of students and young professionals in the European area with recognition of diplomas. To scientific researchers at TUM is given a special attention, they being an essential component of education. Students actively participate in the research process, which leads to raising their level of professional training. University, as a rule, wins the first places in the exhibitions Infoinvent held annually in Moldova and international exhibitions. In the last years, TUM has won over 30 gold medals, silver and bronze medals and a large number of honorable mentions. TUM cooperates with more than 75 universities and scientific centers from different countries. Here are held international scientific conferences and symposiums. TUM is a member of Black Sea Region Universities Network, which includes 11 countries of the Regional Economic Cooperation. Thus, TUM fits into a university area, which will become the part of the unique university area of Europe.
Mathematical Society of the Republic of Moldova was founded in the 50's, XX century, and since 200 members, most of them have scientific or academic degrees, from all over the country then has been the only association gathering mathematicians of Moldova. At present, it has about and about 40% of its members are women. More than 20 university full Professors, 7 members of Academy of Sciences (Moldova). About 60 associate professors and researches, more than 50 young researches and PhD students. Since 2001 the Mathematical Society of the Republic of Moldova organizes (once in 3 years) national conferences, many national and international scientific events. Since 1965 till 1990, more than 20 All Soviet Union scientific conferences have been organized in: general topology and its applications, algebra, rings and modules, geometry, differential equations, artificial intelligence (2), numerical analysis and mechanics (2) and others. Mathematical community of the Republic of Moldova publishes three international mathematical journals (Buletinul Academiei de Stiinte a Republicii Moldova. Matematica, Computer Science Journal of Moldova and, in cooperation with polish colleagues, Quasigroups and Related Systems) and a few university mathematical journals. At the same time, the known edition Matematiceskie Issledovanija (127 issues), issued till 1992 by the Institute of Mathematics of the Academy, became visible at international level and at present was digitalized by Center for Retrospective Digitization, Goettingen (GDZ). At present, 66 national Mathematical Olympiads for undergraduate students are organized (each year beginning with 1952), three Balkan Mathematical Olympiads, the Republic of Moldova participates each year at international mathematical Olympiads (beginning with 1993).
The Tiraspol State University, the first institution of higher education of the Republic of Moldova, was founded on October 1, 1930. The main aim of the University is the support the young specialists and scholars, thus, contributing to the growth of the intellectual elites and to the development of the cultural, social, politic and economic dimensions of the country. The Faculty of Physics, Mathematics and Informational Technologies was founded in 1930, the same year the University had been founded. The Faculty became an important center of training teachers of Physics, Mathematics, Astronomy, Informatics, etc. The scientific seminars of the Faculty Departments were attended by many scholars with an international renown. The Tiraspol State University put the basis of the higher education of our country and greatly contributed to the development of the cultural, social, politic and economic dimensions of the Republic of Moldova. The Academy of Science of Moldova was founded in 1961 and its first President was a graduate of the Tiraspol State University, Academician Iachim Grosul. Tiraspol State University, Institute of Mathematics and Computer Sciences, Moldova State University in collaboration with other institutions have organized a number of scientific conferences: eight Tiraspolean Topological Symposiums, two scientific schools on Topological Algebra, one Symposium on Rings and Modules, four Conferences of Mathematical Society of Republic of Moldova, four editions of CAIM, scientific seminars in domains of fundamental mathematics, etc. Tiraspol State University and Institute of Mathematics and Computer Sciences have organized a joint doctoral school in the fields of mathematics and communication sciences. The process of evolution the Tiraspol State University has passed through since its beginning until today has some dramatic aspects, a fact strongly connected to the social and political circumstances that determined the historical fate of the Republic of Moldova. There occurred many events that negatively affected the process of evolution of University: between the years 1937-1938 it was repressed; in the years 1941-1944 the University was evacuated to Orenburg, Russia; from 1945 until 1970 many faculties were transferred to different regions in order to consolidate the higher education institutions; in July 1992, as a result of the military conflict started by the separatist antinational forces, it was evacuated in Chisinau, etc.
"Gh. Mihoc - C. Iacob" Institute of Mathematical Statistics and Applied Mathematics is an institute of the Romanian Academy and was founded in 2001 by the unification of two institutes: Center of Mathematical Statistics and "Caius Iacob" Institute of Applied Mathematics. The domains of research are: Probability and Stochastic Processes, Statistical Inference, Operational Research, Dynamical Systems and Control Theory, Fluid Mechanics, Partial Differential Equations and applications in Enviromental and Life Sciences.
The Academy of Romanian Scientists is the continuator of the Academy of Sciences of Romania (1936-1948) and of the Association of Romanian Scientists (founded in 1956), that in 1996 became the Academy of Romanian Scientists. In 2007 it was organized in the actual form. Among the honorific members of the Academy of Sciences of Romania we remind the following winners of Nobel Prize: Louis de Broglie, Jean Perrin, Max Born, Werner-Karl Heisenberg, Paul Sabatier, Friedrich Bergius, Paul Karrer, George Emil Palade.